Australian Consulate-General
Kolkata, India

About Us

The Australian Consulate-General in Kolkata is Australia’s fourth diplomatic post in India. The Consulate-General will play a key role in furthering Australia's trade, commercial and investment interests in the eastern and north east Indian states of West Bengal, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Odisha, Sikkim and Tripura. The Consulate-General also helps safeguard the interests of Australians living, working and visiting India in these states.

About the Consul-General

Ms Rowan Ainsworth is a career officer with the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) and was most recently Counsellor, Australian Embassy, Paris. She has previously served overseas in Moscow and Tokyo. In Canberra she served with DFAT as Director, Northern, Central and Eastern Europe Section and State Director, Tasmanian State Office.

Ms Ainsworth holds a Master of Arts and Bachelor of Arts from the University of Sydney.


Contact information

Australian Consulate-General in Kolkata, India
1A, Ho Chi Minh Sarani
Kolkata 700-071

Tel: +91 11 4910 5980

Emaill: [email protected] (General enquiries)

Consular assistance and passport enquiries, see Consular and Passport services

Visa and Immigration enquiries, see Visas and Immigration

For other embassies and consulates, see Addresses and contact numbers.

Australian High Commission in New Delhi, India

1/50 G, Shantipath, Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110021
Tel: +91 11 4139 9900
Fax: +91 11 2687 2228
Website: Australian High Commission in New Delhi, India
Email: [email protected]

Visa and Citizenship Enquiries
Tel: +91-22-67866006
Email: Australian Immigration Enquiry Form

Australian Consulate-General in Mumbai, India

Level 10, A Wing, Crescenzo Building
Opp MCA Cricket Club, G Block, Plot C 38-39
Bandra Kurla Complex, Mumbai 400 051
Tel: +91 22 6757 4900
Fax: +91 22 6757 4955
Website: Australian Consulate-General in Mumbai, India website
Email (General Enquiries): [email protected]

Australian Consulate-General in Chennai, India

9th Floor, Express Chambers, Express Avenue
49, 50L Whites Road, Royapettah, Chennai 600 014
Tel: +91 44 4592 1300
Fax: +91 44 4592 1320
Website: Australian Consulate-General in Chennai, India website
Email (General Queries): [email protected]

Opening hours

The Australian Consulate-General Kolkata is open from 8.30am to 4.30pm Mondays to Fridays, except for public holidays.

Consular and passport services will continue to be provided by the Australian High Commission in New Delhi, until further notice. Clients will only have access to the Consulate by appointment.

The Australian Consulate-General Kolkata does not process or advise on visa, migration or citizenship applications. 


Public holidays in 2021

The Consulate will be closed on:








 New Year’s Day 




 Australia Day/Republic Day








 Good Friday




 Easter Monday








 Queen's Birthday




 Maha Ashtami (Durga Puja)




 Maha Nabami (Durga Puja)








 Diwali / Kali Puja




 Guru Nanak's Birthday




 Christmas Day (in lieu)




 Boxing Day (in lieu)


Employment Opportunities 

See DFAT vacancies for employment opportunities at the Australian Consulate-General Kolkata.

Hoax Employment Opportunities

The Australian Consulate-General is aware of hoax employment opportunities advertising recruitment from companies such as John Holland, Eco Mech Engineering, Wyatt Cole Construction and others to Australia. The Australian Consulate-General is not undertaking a recruitment process for any of these companies in Australia nor assisting with the processing of visa applications to work at these or other companies.

If you have concerns about the validity of an employment offer, please refer to the information regarding potential visa scams, including various warning signs, available on the Australian High Commission New Delhi website via the following link. Where you are the recipient of an email purporting to be from the Australian Consulate-General and you are being asked to process a payment for issuance of a visa please report this to [email protected] and contact your local Police Office for further action.  

Please note at no stage will the Australian Consulate-General, nor any staff of the Consulate, request any payment or charge any fees to assist with visa processing or employment opportunities in Australia.